Our Volunteers Say It All

Her Farm Through Our Volunteers' Eyes

Created by Ryan Wang, a volunteer and student at UCI DigiFilm, this video follows a group of students from UC Irvine Blum Center during their 3-week stay at Her Farm Nepal.

Play Video

Her Farm Through Our Volunteers' Eyes

Play Video: Her Farm Through Our Volunteers' Eyes

This video will begin muted. To hear the sound, please unmute on your device.

Reviews from GreatNonprofits.org

Below, are just a few volunteer reviews submitted through GreatNonprofits.org. You can read many more positive reviews by visiting the Her Farm review page: https://greatnonprofits.org/org/the-global-mountain-fund-inc


volunteer photo

Reeds21

Her Farm Volunteer, October 2019


I spent a little over three weeks at Her Farm and it was the most transformational experience of my life. I flew to Nepal with a friend and I knew very little about the family or culture. I had no idea what to expect, but it exceeded all possible expectations I could have had. The experience is what you put into it, as the beautiful people want to learn and teach as much as you are interested. I learned so much each day, and my eyes opened up to a whole new way of life. It made me think about my life in the states in a more purposeful way. You are guaranteed to learn a lot about yourself and the world if you go to Her Farm. I always felt safe and knew that I would be looked out for, even though I was an 18-year-old who was as far away from home as possible. For me, though there was a lot of hard work, it was the most rewarding work possible. My time at Her Farm flew by and I am flooded with joy when I look at old photos and videos. I truly never knew how kind and welcoming a community of people could be. I have never felt so accepted within a community who barely knew me, and it was incredible. I would love to answer questions about my experience or talk to anyone who is considering making the trip to the amazing Her Farm! My email is Sophiekreed@gmail.com. I can't express how much Her Farm and Nepal will always be held deeply within my heart!

volunteer photo

LaraNguyen7

Her Farm Volunteer, September 2019


My time at Her Farm, operated by the Global Mountain Fund, was pivotal to not only my professional field but also personal passions as well. I spent around 4 weeks at Her Farm in August 2018 under a program spearheaded by my university with around 10 other students. Her Farm was receptive, responsive and efficient in ensuring that our adjustment from the United States to Nepal was extremely smooth; so much in that they ensured that our large bags would be transported to the site on the foothills of the Himalayas and briefed us on what to expect in terms of physical exertion. I immediately adapted to my surroundings relatively quick due to the beautiful scenery, Western-style accommodations and incredible meals. I felt welcomed, secured and prioritized. As this was many of our first times traveling abroad for a long time period, it was the powerful sense of community that comforted us through homesickness. My time volunteering at Her Farm was enlightening. We were fully immersed in a community that prioritized common humanity without hierarchy. I appreciated the fact that we worked alongside the women and their daily tasks, rather than helped as an outsider which eased my concerns of volunteering with a "savior complex". The tasks ranged from cooking, farming, and community development projects--but most importantly, we were always learning. Learning different and innovative ways of living that was environmentally sustainable and less materialistic. Everyday, time was set aside so that we could learn about Nepalese culture whether that was language, holistic medicine or common past times. I was exposed to herbal medicine and acupuncture which supplemented my passions for sustainable medicine. I learned to be a stronger and more self-sufficient individual by being surrounded by inspiring and independent women every day. As Sunita, our mother away from home, commonly put "Woman power, 24 hour!" I felt empowered everyday at Her Farm and felt apart of something larger than myself. The work at Her Farm is integral to tackling the patriarchy and I am privileged to have witnessed this grassroots organization flourish first-hand. My biggest takeaway from this unforgettable journey was to expect nothing, but receive an abundance. I had no idea what to expect, and ultimately I left with lifelong friends, a new perspective on life and a home in Nepal I will continually return to. Everyday we were showered with wisdom, stories and evening circle talks with tea; there is not a day that goes by in which I am not guided by some of the lessons I took away from Her Farm. Every night, there were dance parties to Nepali music and talent shows featuring the most skilled dancing techniques around. I highly recommend Her Farm to anyone willing to fully immerse in a unique, beautiful and rich culture! Plus the view is pretty unbeatable.

volunteer photo

Millan-Khadka

Her Farm Volunteer, June 2019


Her Farm was an amazing learning opportunity for our college group. The Mountain Fund has created a commendable project supporting an amazing group of women that are making self-sustaining impacts everyday. Our group had the opportunity to interview and work with all the residents, and it is through these interactions that we saw the amazing impacts of The Mountain Fund’s involvement in the region. The people, the place, and the project are all truly magical.

volunteer photo

Dorlantoy

Her Farm Volunteer, May 2019


Resilient, Compassionate, and Visionary - are words I would use to describe the women who own and operate this unique community called "Her Farm". Located in the beautiful mountains of the Kathmandu Valley, Her Farm serves as a model for how women can live rural AND modern lives - by empowering women with land to grow food and raise children while also providing the women with modern media equipment to develop skills in technology, photography/videography, journalism, and radio. As a photographer working first hand in their studio, I felt limitless - my only regret was not spending enough time to try every lens/camera!

In the past year, the women at Her Farm have established a professional reputation documenting events such as weddings, short films, and ceremonies through photography and videography. In Nepal, seeing women behind a camera and paying them for their work is very unconventional, making Her Farm a powerful model that rejects traditional gender roles. One has also started an interview series on older women farmers and how diminishing resources and lack of support from their children (who have fled to the city) have affected their farms. Developing these technical skills is vital but more importantly builds confidence and allows women’s voices to be heard.
It was an absolute pleasure and privilege working alongside these spectacular women in the photo studio, on the farm, and hearing their stories & possibilities of the future thanks to Her Farm.

volunteer photo

jrobe22

Her Farm Volunteer, May 2019


I spent two months living and working with the people at Her Farm during the spring and summer of 2015 when Nepal was devastated by an earthquake. The Mountain Fund's response to this disaster was beyond amazing, working to distribute resources where they were most needed and identifying the true needs of the community. Everyone at Her Farm is so kind and welcoming, and I will always consider them to be an extension of my family. The work that has been done by the Mountain Fund to provide a voice and economic opportunity for women who might not otherwise have these opportunities has been truly impactful and sets an example for the entire community to continue to promote positive change and empowerment for all individuals.

volunteer photo

Katie Belle S.

Her Farm Volunteer, January 2019


Great organization! It was such a peaceful and beautiful. I spent New Years at the farm and felt so welcomed by everyone.

volunteer photo

Jacob C.1

Her Farm Volunteer, January 2019


I spent 3 weeks volunteering at Her Farm through my University. I had the most amazing time at Her Farm, learning of the residents, contributing to farm life and taking in the amazing scenery. Prior to going to the farm I was expecting to undertake heavy manual labour. Upon arrival I soon learnt that the value we bring to the farm as foreigners is not always in our physical contribution but also our ways of life and stories. An amazing experience I will never forget, hoping to return at some point in time.

volunteer photo

JackHadaway

Her Farm Volunteer, January 2019


In the final weeks of 2018 I was lucky enough to spend 14 days at Her Farm in Nepal. The experience was unlike anything that I had prepared myself for. The focus on providing beneficial skill development and education for those living at Her Farm proved to be a unique and wonderful challenge for me during my stay. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity that I had in visiting Her Farm and would recommend for anyone seeking an authentic volunteering experience.

volunteer photo

Daphne X.

Her Farm Volunteer, August 2018


Her farm is a community of strong, authentic and brilliant women, whom I will look up to for the rest of my life.

As a volunteer I got to help farm, help look after the children, teach at a nearby school and gain practical film and photography skills. However, most importantly as a volunteer, I went on a journey. I learnt how to love myself and the people around me, I learnt how to find happiness in simplicity and learnt what it was like to truly value and respect communities.

During my 8 weeks at Her Farm, every day was different and bought a new set of challenges and laughter. Everybody made me feel at ease from the very first day - I soon felt like a memeber of the big family and no longer a guest.

Thank you to everyone at Her Farm and to Scott and Sunita, because my experience was real and raw and something I would recommend to anybody wanting to grow, learn and love.

volunteer photo

hilarydavies89

Her Farm Volunteer, July 2018


I spent 5 weeks at Her Farm in April/May and had one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Not your typical volunteering programme - this is an opportunity to become part of a community and a family, live a truly authentic Nepali lifestyle and make a difference to their lives. Go with an open mind: this volunteering programme is broad. It is as much as you make of it, and be prepared to learn as much from these incredibly strong, powerful women, as you will be able to teach them. Very grateful to have been able to live in this beautiful place, have met these amazing women and be able to call them my sisters.

volunteer photo

Anonymous

Her Farm Volunteer, May 2018


If you are looking for one place to support, a way to make a difference, a way to understand the world outside your own, please visit Her Farm. Scott and Sunita are the change they want to see in Nepal. Help support their cause while at the same time gaining a once in a lifetime experience. Travel to a village in the mountains and spend a week or two with the beautiful women and children at Her Farm. Learn how they farm the land, milk a buffalo, make chai and momos, dance and sing in the court yard at night, spend time with the children and help them learn English so they can pass their exams and some day go to college. Be present.

volunteer photo

Evle M.

Her Farm Volunteer, March 2018


I've recently returned from a 2 week stay at Her Farm and absolutely couldn't fault it. I study International Development, and from a development point of view it was SO refreshing to see an organisation which main purpose is to benefit the lives of the women in the community, as apposed to meeting goals and targets. The organisation is beneficiary-led, meaning that it couldn't be more grassroots and bottom-up. I was fortunate enough to conduct post-graduate research whilst at Her Farm, and the success of the organisation was reflected in the unanimous happiness and contentment of all the women I interviewed. Was so uplifting to be witness to such an incredible movement and I couldn't recommend it more! To Sunita, Scott and the girls: keep up the good work!

More Testimonials
at GreatNonprofits.org